Members of the Waste Authority are appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister for Environment.

The current board was announced by the Minister for Environment on 27 August 2014 and they have been given a five year term. The Minister's media release is here.

Marcus Geisler - Chairman

Marcus Geisler has corporate experience in the waste and recycling industry in Australia and overseas, particularly in the recycling of construction and demolition waste. Marcus has held director and senior management positions with Coates Hire, Thiess and SITA. He has been a Waste Authority member since 2008 and was Deputy Chairman in 2011-12.

As Chairman, he has developed a strong and broad engagement platform to bring together State and local governments, industry and the community to enable implementation of the State's Waste Strategy, and to cater for waste infrastructure and management for the next 30 years and beyond. Marcus is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is currently leading the State Waste Strategy review process.

Jenny Bloom - Deputy Chair (GAICD)

Jenny is a director of a change management and strategic planning consultancy, owner and operator of small to medium sized enterprises.

With previous experience as an elected Councilor, Jenny adds a regional perspective to the Authority and has a strong interest in how waste will be processed regionally. This includes the growing resources industry and the delivery of municipal services to remote communities.

Neil Foley - member

Neil is a town planning consultant having previously worked as a planner for State and local government. He also teaches at the University of Western Australia. Neil has promoted the integration of planning for waste infrastructure to be included in the State planning framework.

He was Co-Chairman of the Strategic Waste Infrastructure Planning Working Group.

Glen McLeod - member

Glen is a consulting lawyer of over 35 years experience who advises in environmental, town planning, land valuation and government law. Prior to establishing his legal consultancy in 2012, he was a senior partner in major Australian, UK and US law firms. Glen is also an Adjunct Professor at Murdoch University where he teaches Environment and Town Planning Law. He is also a member of the Advisory Group to the Dean of Law at Murdoch University.

He has had a long association with waste through client work and professional organisations. In particular, he has chaired the Legal Issues Working Group of the International Solid Waste Association, is currently Senior Vice Chair of the Environmental Health and Safety Committee of the International Bar Association and is a former Federal President of the National Environmental Law Association. Glen was the Co-Chairman of the Strategic Waste Infrastructure Planning Working Group.

Victoria Bond - member

The newest member of the Authority comes with a wealth of experience from a career in the waste industry. Victoria has worked in the UK, Australia, New Zealand and the Middle East.  She is currently Head of Waste Management at WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff Middle East. She brings technical and commercial expertise to the Authority, along with knowledge of international best practice.


Related Items