Members of the Waste Authority

Members of the Waste Authority are appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister for Environment.

The Minister for Environment announced the five new members of the Waste Authority on 10 July 2019 in accordance with Part 2 of the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Act 2007.


Minister's media statement of 10 July 2019.

Reg Howard-Smith, Chairman

Reg Howard-Smith is an industry advocate who has provided representation to the highest level of government, private sector and academia within Australia and internationally. He has considerable experience in shaping the strategic direction and policy of organisations, has been a member of numerous boards and is known for his ability to evolve and cultivate strong relationships with leaders and stakeholders. Reg was appointed Chair of the Building and Construction Training Board in March 2020.

Previously the Chief Executive Officer at the Chamber of Minerals and Energy for over a decade, Reg positioned and maintained the Chamber of Minerals and Energy as a leading resource sector organisation in Western Australia with a membership larger and more diverse that any other in the sector, Australia-wide.

Lee Broomhall, Deputy Chair

Lee Broomhall is the Chief Executive Officer of Workpower and has held this role since 2012. 

Workpower is a not-for-profit organisation that owns and operates several large scale commercial businesses in WA. Its enterprises exist to employ and support people with disability.

With a 24 year tenure, Lee was previously the Deputy CEO and held executive roles such as the Executive Manager People, Performance and Strategy and Chief Operating Officer.

She is an alumni of the Telstra Business Women’s Awards, awarded the WA winner of the Young Business Women’s Awards in 2010.  Lee holds qualifications in Human Services, Business Management and Professional Coaching.  She is a Fellow of Leadership WA.

Tim Youé

Tim Youé is the Chief Executive Officer of the Southern Metropolitan Regional Council (SMRC), a statutory local government authority delivering innovative and sustainable waste management solutions and climate change abatement measures on behalf of the communities of East Fremantle, Fremantle, Kwinana and Melville.

He previously held senior management roles in the global logistics sector with a focus on business development and sales and marketing.

Tim is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors holding Bachelor degrees in Sociology and Politics from Murdoch University and a Masters of Business Administration from Curtin Graduate School of Business.

Kelly Howlett

Kelly Howlett is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Pilbara charity, Bloodwood Tree Association Inc. Bloodwood Tree is a wholly Aboriginal-controlled organisation that provides services to those in need, disadvantaged, unemployed and affected by alcohol and drugs both in the Port/South Hedland and broader Pilbara area.

Kelly has made her life and career in the Pilbara, and most notably served as Mayor of the Town of Port Hedland for almost seven years until 2016.

An active and passionate environmental and sustainability practitioner, Kelly founded and is still today the Chairperson of the local Care For Hedland Environmental Association. 

Kelly was inducted into the WA Women’s Hall of Fame in March 2018 in recognition of her lengthy contribution to the Pilbara environment and community.  She has extensive governance experience and a keen interest in the social, natural environment and sustainability. Kelly has a Bachelor Science (Environment)/Bachelor Forest Science (Honours) and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors Program.

Dr Josh Byrne 

Josh Byrne is an environmental scientist with a national profile as a consultant, researcher and communicator in urban sustainability. His approach is leadership through demonstration by engaging in projects that provide opportunities to test innovation, build capacity and share learnings with stakeholders and the broader community. 

Josh's research interests span water sensitive design, high performance housing and sustainable urban development.  He holds a PhD and has authored over 30 academic publications in these fields, as well as industry guidelines and popular books.  He is an Adjunct Professor with the Research Centre for Water, Energy and Waste at the Harry Butler Institute, Murdoch University, and a Senior Research Fellow at Curtin University's School of Design and the Built Environment. 

Josh is a member of the WA State Design Review Panel and is on the Board of Greenlife Industry Australia, the national peak industry body for the producers and retailers of plants.

Created Date:
Tue 29 October 2019

Last Edit Date:
Fri 24 September 2021