WasteSorted Schools grants

Funding for accredited schools

In 2022 the WasteSorted Schools grants replaced the Waste Wise Schools grants program.

WasteSorted Schools grants provide funding for schools to set up infrastructure and initiatives that avoid and recover school waste. Funding is available for projects that divert waste from landfill, such as paper and cardboard, food waste, single-use packaging and recycling. These projects aim to educate and engage students and the school community in waste avoidance and recovery practices. Grants of up to $5,500 are available. All accredited WasteSorted Schools are eligible to apply.

  • Grant round one opened Tuesday 1 February 2022 and closed on Tuesday 15 March 2022 at 12pm.  

  • Grant round two opened Monday 18 July and will close at 12 pm Tuesday 30 August 2022.

Applications must be completed and submitted through the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation’s SmartyGrants portal. 

Grant resources

For more information, please view the following support materials:

Applications can only be submitted while the grant round is open and must be received before the deadline. All grants are subject to funding availability.

For more information, please contact the WasteSorted Schools program on 6364 6696, 6364 7056 or wastesortedschools@dwer.wa.gov.au

Successful grant round winners

WasteSorted Schools, formerly Waste Wise Schools, is a program of the Waste Authority which is funded through a levy on waste to landfill as part of the Waste Strategy 2030.

Congratulations to the following schools who were successful in the recent grant round:

  • Aveley Primary School
  • Belmay Primary School
  • Butler Primary School
  • Carine Senior High School
  • Carnarvon Christian School
  • Churchlands Primary School
  • Cloverdale Primary School
  • Cooloongup Primary School
  • Dampier Primary School
  • Duncraig Primary School
  • East Maddington Primary School
  • Eaton Primary School
  • Helena River Steiner School
  • Kellerberrin District High School
  • Kingston Primary School
  • Mazenod College
  • Mel Maria Catholic Primary School
  • Millen Primary School
  • Mother Teresa Catholic College
  • Poseidon Primary School
  • Saint Simon Peter Catholic Primary School
  • South Bunbury Education Support Centre
  • South Thornlie Primary School
  • Spearwood Primary School
  • St Bernadette's Catholic Primary School
  • St Elizabeth's Catholic Primary School
  • St Jude's Catholic Primary School
  • St Thomas More Catholic Primary School
  • Takari Primary School
  • The King's College
  • Yakamia Primary School
  • Yanchep Beach Primary School.

Created Date:
Wed 9 October 2019

Last Edit Date:
Tue 19 July 2022