WasteSorted Awards 2021

Celebrating WA’s waste champions


The WasteSorted Awards, previously known as the Infinity Awards, celebrate Western Australia’s waste champions and recognise projects that avoid waste, recover value from waste streams and protect the environment.

There are 10 award categories and two discretionary award categories, highlighting some incredible projects and individuals working across Western Australia's waste sector.

Congratulations to all winners. Click here to see the winners’ stories.

WasteSorted Award winners for 2021

Avoid Recover Protect – Community Waste Award

Winner: Downer

Highly Commended: GO2CUP

Commended: The Nappy Guru


Avoid Recover Protect – Commercial and Industrial Waste Award

Winner: Instant Waste Management

Highly Commended: SecondBite


Avoid Recover Protect – Waste Management Award

Winner: Downer

Highly Commended: SecondBite


Avoid Recover Protect – WA Regional Waste Award

Winner: North West Recycling

Commended: City of Karratha

Commended: Shire of Collie


2021 Waste Champion

Winner: Keith Rickman

Commended: Tannis Brennan


Waste Team of the Year

Winner: Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital – Green Team

Highly Commended: Wasteless Pantry


Waste Innovation of the Year

Winner: Town of Cambridge, Green Machines Lab, Poly Pipe Recycling and Aussie Pool Covers for the Pool Blanket Recycling Program

Highly Commended: Tellus Holdings Ltd for the Sandy Ridge Geological Repository

Highly Commended: Remondis Australia for the CDS collection model


WasteSorted School of the Year

Winner: Manea Senior College

Highly Commended: Mary’s Mount Primary School


2021 Young Waste Achiever

Winner: Youth Affairs Council – Youth Educating about Waste


Media Award

Winner: Lucy Jarvis


2021 WA Waste Award

Winner: Southern Metropolitan Regional Council


2021 Waste Initiative of the Year (two joint winners)

Joint Winner: City of Bunbury for the Public FOGO Bins Program

Joint Winner: DevelopmentWA for the OneOneFive Hamilton Hill project

Created Date:
Mon 23 November 2020

Last Edit Date:
Thu 6 May 2021