Got some news that you think we should know about, contact us and let us know the details as we’d love to know about it.

‹ First  < 15 16 17

Specifications Pavements 501 launched

The new Specifications Pavements 501 was launched on a site where recycled C&D waste makes up the road base for the works by City East Alliance on the Great Eastern Highway.

Shown from left to right: Peter Fitzpatrick, Chairman of the Waste Authority; Brian Norris, Project Director, Main Roads WA; Marcus Geisler, Deputy Chairman of the Waste Authority; Hon Bill Marmion MLA, Minister for Environment.

The specifications can be found on the Main Roads website here.

Waste Awards 2011

A packed room of finalists, friends, family and conference participants celebrated the Waste Authority’s Waste Awards at the Waste and Recycle Conference 2011. Twelve finalists were selected by independent judging panels. The awards were jointly presented by the Minister for Environment, Hon. Bill Marmion MLA and Peter Fitzpatrick, AM JP, Chairman of the Waste Authority, at a special function preceding the official opening of the conference.

“In celebrating the achievements of individuals, communities, businesses and government, the awards recognise outstanding efforts in working towards the Waste Authority’s objectives for minimisng waste to landfill and encouraging innovative and committed recycling initiatives,” said Mr Fitzpatrick.

“The Waste Authority created these prestigious awards to recognise the significant and often creative contributions made to waste avoidance and resource recovery across the State.”

The awards four categories reflected the various sectors and communities of interest involved in waste reduction. The categories were:

  • Waste Reduction & Resource Recovery Initiative
  • Local Government Waste Reduction Initiative
  • Waste Wise Schools Waste Reduction Initiative
  • Waste Champion (an individual or organisation)

The range of activities included:


  • Custom built glass crushers
  • Battery recycling at schools
  • Special recycling stations
  • An event recycling trailer
  • Sustainable training courses for trades
  • Zero Waste lunch days
  • A personal commitment to litter reduction

Details of the award recipients follows:

Category Award Recipient
Waste Reduction & Resource Recovery Initiative Winner SODEXO
  Honourable Mention Landcorp
  Honourable Mention All Earth Group
Local Government Waste Reduction Initiative    
  Winner Shire of Dowerin
  Honourable Mention Shire of Augusta-Margaret River
  Honourable Mention City of Nedlands
Waste Wise Schools Waste Reduction Initiative    
  Winner Yuluma Primary
  Honourable Mention Clifton Hills Primary
  Honourable Mention Dawesville Catholic Primary
Waste Champion    
  Winner Peg Davies, MRC
  Honourable Mention Chris Byrnes, CARE
  Honourable Mention Green Painters Ltd



Green Stamp Aims for 100% Compliance

Perth-based MTA member Automotive Holdings Group (AHG), which has 30 sites in WA and another 30 sites in New South Wales and Queensland, is on track to make every one of its sites Green Stamp accredited by mid-2011.

National Health, Safety and Environment Manager, Fred Easton, told Motor WA magazine that several AHG sites were already Green Stamp accredited before it became a company-wide goal in late 2009.

Green Stamp is a strategic partner with the WA Waste Authority, which provides funding towards the program.

Read the full story here..

Announcement of the Inaugural Waste Authority Members

The Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Act 2007 (the "WARR Act") and the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Levy Act 2007 ("WARR Levy Act") were passed by Parliament and given Royal Assent by the Governor of Western Australia in December 2007.

Part 2 of the WARR Act sets up a new statutory Waste Authority to drive waste strategic planning and policy development in WA, and to administer the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Account.

Members of the Authority were appointed on 6 May 2008, and the Authority is expected to formally commence business by July 2008. The Authority members are Mr Barry Carbon OA (Chair); Ms Jan Grimoldby (Deputy Chair); Ms Carolyn Jakobsen; Mr Marcus Geisler, and Professor Paul Hardisty.

‹ First  < 15 16 17